The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,379 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been hunting PA bear for a few years without one under my belt and was wondering about outta state hunting. I am in the $1500-2000 range and was wondering if anyone had suggestions. Maine isnt the only option...but Id figured it'd be my best bet stateside.
Thanks, Brad

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
I surmise you are looking for a baited hunt which is at the end of Aug/Sept.Some hunt with hounds up there, but I have no interest in hunting them that way. Maine can be good or not. It's about the timing and how much food is in the woods that year. Just realize its not like the 3-4K hunts in canada on TV where you'll see bears everyday, can whisper and move around in the stand in plain sight of the bear and then just shoot one. It might be that way, or you might see none. I mention this because it sounds as if you think this might be an "easier" way of getting one than in PA.Please pardon me if I misinterpreted. That aside, they are reasonably priced (within your budget), easy pace(no 4 AM wake-ups like deer hunts), enjoyable hunts. Try Randy Flannery at Wilderness Escape Outfitters. In the meantime keep trying here.

·
Registered
283 Posts
My father and I went to maine and hunting with A guide called Russell Pond camps. We had a great time, the guides were really good, food was incredible and we both got bear. They had 2 little old ladies in the kitchen cooking and we ate like kings all week and the camp is on a real nice lake with lots to do when your not hunting. My dad and I got the two biggest bear taken that week... I really want to go again here is the link http://www.russellpondcamps.com

·
Banned
19,532 Posts
scott_and_stalk said:
my uncle and second cousin are up there right now and his was far less than 2000 and he got a bear and deer license
if it is a baited bear hunt, you have a better chance of getting the bear than you do the deer!