The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What do you recommend for bullet and powder. I am new to this. I have conicals now. Would like to know what you recommend as powder charge for conicals and any input you would like to add about anything or any load for this gun. It has the 1 in 48 twist barrel. Nice gun. I have had it several years and haven't shoot it much. I am thinking about hunting this flintlock season and any input would really be appreciated.
Thank you

·
Registered
410 Posts
You need to get out to the range to find what load combination your rifle prefers. I have the same rifle and the twist your rifle has is a happy medium for both conicals and round balls.What caliber is your rifle? 90 grains is a good place to start in 2 or 3F for a 50 or 54. Goex black powder is the best you can use as far as shooting goes. Swiss is better but cost alot more . I've been shooting flintlocks for years and found all kinds of info on the web; go to The Muzzleloader Forum you'll get all the information you'll ever need.

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks,
It is a .50 caliber. Any info is appreciated. I have 240 grain hornady conicals and Goex powder. I am going to have to look it might be a greater twist that 1 in 48 because the conicals say 1/66 twist and it these were the recommendation of the gun dealer.

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sorry going to post this in the traditional forum.

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
The Trade rifle has a 1/48, and the Great Plains has either a 1/66 or 1/32 depending on which model it is.

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you.

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
It has the 1/60 twist. Any info is appreciated.

·
Registered
907 Posts