The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm New to this forum and I'm looking for advice, Last year a Friend let me shoot his new muzzleloader he won at a gun raffle. I Really enjoyed it and im now looking for a flintlock for myself. I think it will be one of the following lyman deerstalker flintlock or T/C Firestorm in the flintlock.

I was able to handle the T/C Firestorm at a local Dicks Sporting goods in the area. I liked it but I was a little concerned about the balance of the gun it seemed front heavy with the synthetic stock, but im new to muzzleloading so what do I know. A co-worker of mine has a friend that uses it and he told me that this wasn't an issue for them.

I cant find a Deerstalker around the Greensburg/Latrobe area. So I don't know anything about it other than information and pictures on the internet.

let me know what you think. or if there is another gun that i should take a look at in this price range.

·
Registered
304 Posts
I BOUGHT A DEERSTALKER LAST YEAR FOR MUZZLELOADING AND LOVE IT.$325 AND IT SHOOTS GREAT AT 40-50 YDS. I AM NOT GOOD ENOUGH TO GO BEYOND THAT

·
Registered
695 Posts
I would buy the Deer Stalker. Something just aint right about plastic stocked muzzleloaders.

Check out the Lyman Great Plains rifle an even better choice IMHO

Either way welcome to black powder shooting & hunting

·
Registered
1,339 Posts
I have a deerstalker and I think that it shoots well. I only shoot patch and ball out of mine and I shoot a few hundred rounds per year out of it. It will be retired soon only because I ordered a custom gun

·
Registered
2,650 Posts
I have a deerstalker and I really like the look and more importantly,the feel of it.I've had it 2 years and still have'nt shot it enough!It shoots well and in all honesty probably would shoot even better if I would always do my part.Quite a few on here have deerstalkers so you should get some good info on them.Good luck!

·