The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
706 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been looking into making my own wine for a while now, and figured I'd make a post. Anyone have any good websites to check out and read up on? Also, any good wine supply stores either around Pittsburgh or Altoona? Any info I can get would be greatly appreciated. Thanks all.

·
Registered
2,858 Posts
Scorpion,
I'm a newbie at this too, but have 5 gallons of cider in the works to make potent Apple Jack and maybe some wine. A couple buddies make wine and beer and are pretty good at it.

Oak Spring Winery just north of Altoona on old Rt 220 will have everything you need and a person to give advice

·
Registered
3,691 Posts
if you want to try something easy, buy 5 gallons of cider and 5 lbs of honey and a pack of cyser yeast from wyeast
(internet). warm up the cider enough to melt the honey and mix it real good and put it in your fermenter and add the wyeast after it cools below 100 degrees. rack it into the carboy after a couple of weeks and let it mellow and rack it a couple of times until its done. it is called cyser and it tastes like asti spumante.

·
Registered
172 Posts
south hills brewing supply has starter kits with everything you will need to get started, its on noblestown road across the street from wendys.

·
Registered
79 Posts
i know a few the closest i know is portersville brew house (correct me) then theres volant winery. make a honey wine (meade AKA mead) and its also pretty good!

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
I have been making homemade wine for quite a while. Mostly fruits but I have also done concord grape and wild catawba grape as well as honey (mead), dandelion, tomato both red and green. When I first started I found this website and it is about as good as it gets.

http://winemaking.jackkeller.net/

It is a huge site with more information than you can absorb in a months reading. It is bookmarked on my computer and referred to often.

·