The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to get into reloading for pistol and rifle. any tips on the best presses, dies, etc? I'm just going to load enough for my own recreational shooting and hunting so not looking to turn out tons of rounds at one sitting. Any info appreciated.

·
Registered
5,831 Posts
Get the RCBS Rockchucker kit.............everything you need, and RCBS is high quality stuff......

Supposedly the Hornady stuff is good, and Redding stuff is good too......

·
Registered
20,873 Posts
Yep,get either an RCBS kit or a lyman kit.That,a set of dies and a decent hand priming tool is all you really need.Also,buy a couple different reloading manuals and read them cover to cover before you even start reloading.

·
Registered
206 Posts
I've been loading for almost 40 years and I've never seen a kit that I've liked all the parts. my advice is to find some people who reload in your area and ask to sit with them when they load. I've taught many people to reload this way. learning from several, you might find several items you like to use and several you don't. you could get a feel from watching utube videos, but be careful because I've seen some that the person doesn't have a clue to what he's doing. good luck and feel free to pm me with any questions jim

·
Registered
12,137 Posts
When I started, I didn't know anyone that reloaded and just sitting for 15 minutes with a person to watch would have saved me all kinds of aggravation. I read books, double checked everything and pulled the trigger with a string when I shot the first few reloads. I went to a BPCR Match and the guy camped next to me was going to do some reloads so I got out my stuff and we sat reloading and discussing how we do it. We were both newbies and actually learned quite a bit from each other.