The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am brand new to PA and a new member of butler county DU. I wasa member of the downriver chapter in Michigan. Recent transplant from southeast , mi. Looking for some local places to duck hunt. I have visited a few of the common ones, moraine, etc. I am looking for something closer . Michigan had hundreds of places, pa is a little more challenging.

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
Duck365 Im not being smart or anything,but as you can see spots are very limited and alot of hunters don't respect other hunters spots so I don't think your going to get many responds to your post. People have tried to help other people out and they wind up stealing there spots out from under them. I just ran into that very thing this year with a couple guys that were crying they didn't have any places for geese. So I took them there on a promise they didn't go back without me and what do you know I drive an hr and a half one way to get there at 5am and see some lights in the field I go out and its the same bums I took out last year. They didn't have permission to be there let alone drive in his fields after it rained for 2 days. You might get a couple of guys pm you and offer to take you out, but don't hold your breathe. Most of the guys on here have spent a pile of money and time to find there spots and they are sacred. If you were closer to me I would tell you all my old spots as I don't hunt ducks much anymore because of the reasons mentioned above. Welcome to Pa and HPA forum. Don't take me the wrong way please as I get along with everybody and hunt with several great guys on here. I hope someone shows you some spots and there are still some good people out there.

·
Registered
6,662 Posts
I'm sure you'll get plenty of good tips on the internet. It would be a little better if you had a Son who wants to kill a duck.
Guess the best tip would be to look where ever there's some water.