The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a traditions 50 cal inline. I have a very hard time loading sabots in it. Is there any easy way to do this? I have 3 brands for 50 cal and 429 (44 cal Bullets) and all 3 are very hard to push down the barrel.

Thanks, Stan

·
Registered
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well after a week of fustration I tried round balls, I was told by traditions they will not shoot good but I needed something I could load. With 90 gr of 3f, winchester 209 primer, .020 oxyoke patch and a .495 rb I can touch holes at 55 yards, Only took 50+ shots but I am very Happy now.
Happy Hunting, Stan

·
Registered
3,581 Posts
If your gun shoots PRB, then you may want to think of shooting the Hornady Pa. Conical. Here is the Link to the Conical sold at Midway. I've been shooting these from my M\L for the past 3 years using 90gr of FF, a T\C bore button (pre-lubed, no additional lube necessary) and then just slide the conical down the tube.

Easy to load, and these weigh 240gr. which is a bit more than the 180gr. that a round ball weighs. I can hear 'em smack the deer and I've not lost one yet. Accuracy is just as good or better than a PRB and much easier to load as you don't have that darn patch to deal with.

FWIW

SW

·
Registered
889 Posts
You can try a bunch of different sabot and bullet combinations, and you might get lucky and find one that loads easy. But you may not. I had an Omega that was the same way. The rifle was unbelievably accurate(part of being a tight barrel). But you could only get one shot down the barrel-PERIOD. You could not load a second shot without cleaning the barrel. I tried over a dozen different combos with this rifle. All shot well, but only one shot.

You need to determine whether you can live with that or not. Tom.

·
Registered
3,163 Posts