The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13,867 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does the following apply? Crossbows are legal during late season archery, but NOT during Flintlock? The dates are the same

This is my first year with a crossbow and I argued they were exempt from late season....(only vertical?)

Expanded Use
The Pennsylvania Board of Game Commissioners approved an expansion of the use of crossbows for hunting in 2009. Hunters can use them during both the archery deer and bear seasons for the 2009/2010 seasons. The board amended the proposal to include a sunset date for the expanded crossbow use that will require board to vote on the measure again before June 30, 2012. In exchange for the six-week archery season, crossbows are now no longer legal during the October muzzleloader or late flintlock muzzleloader season.
I think I lost a bet this past weekend....It's gonna cost me a case of beer.

·
Registered
4,781 Posts
To the best of my knowledge they are legal.

Even before they legalized xbows...you could use a xbow if you had a muzzleloader stamp.

So I would say you are good to go.

·
Registered
13,867 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was told today that they are inclusive, (only with an archery stamp not muzzy) I lost the bet and now owe a family member a case of beer!

May crossbows be used as part of the early muzzleloader or late flintlock seasons?
No, the Board specifically prohibited the use of crossbows as a “lesser sporting arm” for those participating in the October muzzleloader season for antlerless deer or the late flintlock muzzleloader season. However, archery hunters may choose to use a crossbow during the overlap with these muzzleloader/flintlock seasons; they will need an archery license and must abide by the other provisions of the archery seasons.
Well, I was partially correct.....I did say during the flinter season.

·
Registered
13,867 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Stogey said: