The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a NY resident but frequent Pa waters, from my understanding I need a registration for state parks? what is the difference between a registration and an access pass? besides cost. I just wanna be legal wherever I venture.

·
Registered
24,864 Posts
Dan, for a kayak you just need a launch permit from Pa F&B or buy one from the State park You don not have to register a kayak but you need the permit

Just got one from Coopers Sporting goods in Mansfield... $19.00 for two years... They expire 12/31 (calendar year)

·
Registered
2,808 Posts
registration is required for motorized boats(including electric motors).

launch permits are required on non motorized boats(rowboats,canoes,yaks,inflatables{some special rules on these}and paddleboards.

You do not need both one or the other will work. You must have the required safety gear for the vessel you are in/on. Also most states will honor home state registrations - not sure about the launch permits. Also some places may have an additional fee/permit to launch(county parks)

·
Registered
24,864 Posts
LAUNCH PERMITS
Owners of unpowered boats (canoes, kayaks, stand-up paddleboards, rowboats, etc.) can launch their boats at PFBC lakes and access areas or Pennsylvania state parks if their boats display a PFBC launch use permit, OR boat registration, OR Pennsylvania State Parks launch permit OR mooring permit. Pennsylvania State Parks recognizes PFBC boat registrations and launch permits. The Commission does NOT recognize launch permits from other states. A PFBC launch permit can be purchased online at the Commission’s website. An unpowered boat may have a registration OR launch permit, but is not required to have both

http://fishandboat.com/boatcrs/03boathandbook/chap2_08_launch.htm

From dcnr

Boating: electric motors only