The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,051 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got a TC Hawkin 50 cal. I'm new to this so any help on loads, balls, all the fixin's I'm gonna need would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
4,365 Posts
Welcome aboard! You've made a choice you'll never regret. I'll assume your TC Hawken is a flintlock, and you're feeling a bit overwhelmed with what to do next.

I started with a .50 cal. TC Hawken 35+ years ago, and when I lowered my arm at the auction, I received a look from the wife I'll never, ever forget!

If I remember correctly, that .50 cal. Hawken appreciated a .490 round ball surrounded by a .015 lubed patch, ahead of 75 grains of FFg Goex. I'm a lefty, and soon found that that right-handed Hawken and I would never become friendly, so I sold it to someone who could appreciate it.

Thousands of dollars spent, and a half dozen lefty flintlocks later, find me old, broke, but a truly happy, huntin' man!

Best of luck with your new smokepole! You're now on a black powder slippery slide, and there is no getting off!

·
Premium Member
24,059 Posts
Great advice by my friend Berks!!

Glad to see ya still in here Berks! Hope all is well!!

·
Registered
2,487 Posts
I`ve been at it for over35years nad am still learning!!Best way is to find a M`loader Club near you and ask questions. There will be a wealth of info there....

·
Registered
1,330 Posts
welcome to the fraterinty
just keep shootin it. Shoot, shoot, then shoot somemore, and when you think you have shot enough shoot again. Don't just shoot off the bench either, shoot standing, kneeling, gun against a tree, left foot on a stump, right foot on stump (I like to call the last two the "Captain Morgen", etc. . .

and if you can next weekend is the Dixon Gunmaker's fair, they have different seminars, and you can learn a lot of pointers, not to mention all the beautiful custom guns on display and for sale
once you start you will become an addict