The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have trapped off and on the past few years with friends but never really on my own.... I was looking to get into it this year and give it a try really on my own. Problem is I have zilch when it comes to traps and am in need of some. Also I am a full time college student only working about 8 hours a week. Which is a reason I would like to get into to earn a few extra bucks here and there. I know where coyotes, fox, coons, and beaver are but just want some input from you guys. Any help or tips will be much appreciated as I am someone who believes the tradition needs to be kept alive.
Thanks!

·
Registered
991 Posts
This is positively the wrong year to start iffin you'd like to make a few bucks. Especially if you have to buy equipment and general supplies. Nothing wrong with buying a few traps and spending some time learning.

·
Registered
2,933 Posts
Not sure what part of the state you are in , but I'd be willing to pitch in and donate some equipment .. I have some well seasoned traps that will work for everything that steps in them

·
Registered
465 Posts
You said you went with friends previously. I'm sure they wouldn't mind letting you borrow some equipment. Like others said the market isn't there for making money, however the market is good for figuring things out and learning technique. If you're really serious about wanting to learn, now is the time.

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
I have to agree with Scott. I started running my own lines when I was in college in the late 90's. I learned a lot and had a lot of success although only made enough to cover expenses. I moved away to graduate school and hadn't set a trap since mostly because of a lack of space for putting equipment and lack of time for trapping.