The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I’m new to the Indiana area and never hunted the area just wondering if anyone has any info on places to get into the woods. I know there’s a few decent sized game lands around are any better than others or have less pressure? Thanks in advance

·
Registered
3,783 Posts
Time to wear out some boot leather. Hike those game lands and look for mast producing white oaks right now. Other than that, knock on some farmers doors after scouting out potential properties online and see if you can get permission. A little late for that approach though. Also, look for co-op properties within easy driving distance and see if you can get permission to hunt those. Good luck. I don't hunt that area so I can't be more helpful than the above.

·
Registered
22,663 Posts
We hunted for years on SGL 76, which is right over the border in Cambria.

·
Registered
221 Posts
I grew up around Indiana (i.e. Shelocta). A significant portion of the areas I used to hunt are now littered with yellow signs. That being said I can point you in the right direction of a few decent spots.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I grew up around Indiana (i.e. Shelocta). A significant portion of the areas I used to hunt are now littered with yellow signs. That being said I can point you in the right direction of a few decent spots.
Thanks for the reply! I’m not sure how or if you can private message on here but I’d like to find out a little more about that area! Thanks

·
Registered
315 Posts
Thanks for the reply! I’m not sure how or if you can private message on here but I’d like to find out a little more about that area! Thanks
My BIL has some land around the Dixonville area. Lot of posted land around there also where we hunt allot of poaching and outlaws. Deer herd not what is was a few years ago.

·
Registered
332 Posts