The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Banned
16,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there, I am new to muzzleloader hunting and this past season was my first flintlock experience.

My dad and I have drawn MZ elk tags for Co. this year and I would like some advice. My dad will be using a T/C Encore and I will be using a Black Diamond. We plan on shooting Powerbelt bullets and were wondering what bullet weights any of you suggest for elk. We would also like to know what powder you recommend and how big a charge.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Groupings, trajectory numbers, velocities, anything!!! Thanks again.

·
Registered
889 Posts
The bigger the better.

I cast a 525 grain 50 caliber pure lead bullet for my elk medicine. And it knocks the snot out of them. I will admit that I shoot way to heavy of a load(powder wise). The load I shoot kills on both ends, but as I said it just knocks em silly. Shoot the big conicals.

Good luck in CO. This will be one of the most exciting hunts you will ever go on. CO elk MZ season is in the heart of the CO mountains rut. Tom.

·
Banned
16,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
HOGGHEAD said:
The bigger the better.

I cast a 525 grain 50 caliber pure lead bullet for my elk medicine. And it knocks the snot out of them. I will admit that I shoot way to heavy of a load(powder wise). The load I shoot kills on both ends, but as I said it just knocks em silly. Shoot the big conicals.

Good luck in CO. This will be one of the most exciting hunts you will ever go on. CO elk MZ season is in the heart of the CO mountains rut. Tom.
Thanks Tom. Was out there last year for archery at the end of muzzleloader season. We had many close encounters with bulls and unfortunately I misjudged a 6x6 for 50 yds when he was only 40 and went high. Oh well, maybe he'll be bigger this year and the old smoke pole can do the job.

·
Registered
12,383 Posts