The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do you ladies hunt alone or always go with someone? I don't work, but my husband does. My boys are in school all day. I have a lot of time to go out on my own, but I've been afraid. Maybe some reassurance is what I need.

·
Registered
4,149 Posts
I hunt alone in Archery Season. I'm getting ready to hang a stand on private property in Green Co on Thursday and make the trip down once a week for an all day hunt on my own til archery lets out. It takes a good 45 minutes to get there so I'll stay all day to make it count.

I've been hunting that property for 3 years now and I know where I like to go so that doesn't get me nervous. I won't venture unless I'm with my brother and his buddy who own it. We usually take long walks through nasty stuff to get the deer up and running during rifle season. A few times of doing that and you get to know the place pretty quickly.

Sometimes, I get nervous and say what if but I ALWAYS tell my husband and brother where I'm going and you should too! It is very important that you have a plan in place just in case. I hope my biggest obstical to overcome will be trying to figure out how in the world I will get a BIG BUCK in my truck by myself!

·
Registered
78 Posts
I don't think I'd say that I've hunted completely alone, or at least I don't feel alone. There has always been someone somewhere around. At my boyfriends place, when I'm in the tree, there might be someone at the house or he is just down the road hunting. I have my phone on me and I have my pistol. There is always someone that knows where I am and would come looking for me.

·
Registered
671 Posts