The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just curious, I’ve seen a handful of you discuss hunting in Maine. How many though regularly go there to hunt every year?

·
Registered
10,609 Posts
I have been hunting on and off up there since 1969. There was a span of about 20 years when we went every year.

Unfortunately I have not been up there hunting in last 10 or 12 years. I love hunting the big woods up there.

Reactions: WanderXC

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It is gorgeous up there. I’d like to do some hunting myself in their woods, which is why I’m asking here. Trying to get an idea of what to expect

·
Registered
10,609 Posts
The southern part is more civilized, farms and wood plots. The western mountains a little less so. The northern half is big woods. I hunted the area around Patten when I first started up there. We stayed at a lodge but then I met a local and we camped on his land and near Pleasant Lake for a few years.

We hooked up with some folks at Winterville which is in the big woods of Aroostook County. We stayed with them in their home and then at a location up the road in Eagle Lake as our group grew bigger. Eagle Lake is just east of the Allagash area.

The last 5 or 6 times I was there we stayed in Greenville or Jackman.

Greenville, Jackman or Eagle Lake are all big woods. The down side is towards the end at Eagle Lake and then Greenville we were seeing more moose than deer.

I do not know if anything has changed.

Reactions: Peenoe Hunter

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I’ve been to Farmington in the northwest once..Bangor/brewer area twice. Two different worlds for sure. Eventually I’d like to buy a plot of land and build a small off grid cabin around Bangor or north a bit. Penobscot or aroostook counties...

·
Premium Member
23,842 Posts