The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
959 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I am just getting started into duck hunting and was wondering how many decoys I need? I heard for geese it seems like the more the better but is it the same for ducks? I bought 14 floaters (6 rester, 6 active, 2 duck butts, and 2 no head feeders) I also am waiting on my 2 dozen full bodies to get here (12 active and 12 feeders). How many more should I get?

·
Registered
602 Posts
Well I'd say you're off to a good start with the decoys there. For the early season I think you have plenty, maybe grab a pack of wood duck decoys too. I think it depends on where you are hunting. I mean if you're hunting a small creek and seeing groups of a 6 - 12 birds come in, then I don't think you need tons of decoys. If you're hunting a big river or open water you may need some more. A lot of it will be trial and error. I don't hunt ducks in fields very often, so I can't really help ya there. Good Luck!

·
Registered
356 Posts
A lot depends on the time of year, the location, other hunters and hunting pressure and many other factors. You have to kind of learn by trial and error. I have hunted small creeks with 2 or 3 decoys and I have hunted lakes and rives with as many as 10 dozen decoys or more. It is best to try to hunt with someone who has hunted waterfowl before (at least in the area you are hunting to see what works for them)thats all part of the challenge to find the birds and fool them into your decoy spread... Good l;uck!

·
Registered
19,644 Posts
Like already stated it is a trial and error situation. I hunt geese more then ducks but they are very similar when using decoys.
In the particular areas where I hunt smaller set-ups seem to work better then massive ones.
While placement of the decoys is important, its more important that they don’t see you.
I agree that you should try and hook up with someone locally to teach you the ropes for your area.