The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I am new to crossbows. Just curious, how many arrows do you take hunting?

Have you ever needed to make a second shot on a deer that you hit and were trailing?

Note: I am not counting decocking arrows.

·
Registered
701 Posts
I always have 3 but I might start taking 4 , Example for 4 this year my 14 year old son spined his buck it went straight down but need a killing shot he wiffed on the 2nd shot since by then his buck fever had kicked in ,luckly we were able to get out of the ladder stand and he was able to get 10 yards away and finished him off. But that got me thinking one more bolt wouldn't be bad to have along

·
Registered
58 Posts
5, my quiver holds that. Gotta ask, how many bullets do you take? A gun seems to be a superior weapon and I know guys that take a whole box.

·
Registered
262 Posts
I usually take three BH plus a field tip. Two lighted nocks and one normal. I did put a second arrow in a deer this year, though not while trailing. The first shot went higher than intended...it was about a 40 degree down angle and I didn't bury the crosshairs enough. The deer was paralyzed/stunned, but probably only the offside lung, so I reloaded in my climber and shot it again. It was either that or hurry down and use a knife. If it was a ladder stand I would have just climbed down quick, but of course a ladder stand would not have been high enough to make that same shot. That said, I am leery to approach a struggling deer with the possibility of a broadhead sticking out.

·
Registered
12,252 Posts
4, just cause my quiver holds 4.
That is my number and the same reason.