The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14,314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody try them out? I'm thinking of giving them a go and see how they do. Just wondering if any of you guys have tried them and your thoughts about them.

Thanks,

Jason

Hornady FPB 300gr

·
Registered
14,314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'll check into the Thor bullets. What do you mean specifically by fall apart?

I'm shooting cheap sabotted XTP's right now and I just want to simplify things. Thought of going with a T/C Maxi-something or a Hornady Great Plains bullet, but I don't want to mess with the mess that T/C lube makes on everything and I have no experience with the GP bullets. I'm leery of the powerbelts due to a less than stellar reputation.

·
Registered
14,314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I was a little confused looking at their site. They either use Barnes bullets or use Barnes' technology to make their bullet. Either way I don't have a problem with that. Thanks. I'll research a bunch about these two bullets and see what I want to try first.

·
Banned
1,109 Posts
barnes makes the bullets for Thor under contract. Im testing the version 2 thor out right now. It's a .500" bullet with a small coating of graphite that brings the final DIA to .5045 This allows the shooter to buy one bullet that will fit many bore sizes.

We got this bullet from a deer that we shot at 175 yards with 105gr pyrodex rs and the 250gr thor. Deer dropped in its tracks.

Entrance,

This was the opposite front shoulder on the exit side. Bullet was under the hide.

This bullet broke the spine in half and the upper part of the shoulder blade was busted in half as well.

·
Registered
14,314 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Nice pics. I like what I'm seeing so far, thanks.

·
Registered
889 Posts
frontier gander said: