The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it possible to tan coyote hides this time of year? I'm not a fur expert so I thought this would be the place to ask! I was fortunate enough to take my first PA coyote a couple weeks back while gobbler hunting. His hide seemed in nice shape for mid-May I thought, and wasn't mangy. Again, I'm not a fur expert and was concerned he may spoil so I double bagged it and froze him whole until I found out if I could salvage the hide. I just thought it would be neat to get the hide tanned if possible. Thanks!

·
Registered
6,104 Posts
Some of the trappers on here could answer your question, also on the trapping forum there is a guy on there that shows a process that he uses . He goes by AndrewC.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Actually after reading your response, maybe I didn't ask my question correctly. I don't want to tan it myself, I was asking generally if coyote hides could be tanned this time of year vs in the colder months when they are in their prime. Thanks.....

·
Registered
6,104 Posts
My guess would be the colder months when the furs are fuller and better quality. Not a trapper or predator hunter , but that is what I interpreted by some of the post that I read over the years. maybe some of the trappers or predator hunters could help you out better than I can.

·
Registered
1,847 Posts
I'm sure Hern could give you some good info, send him a PM.

·
Registered
3,233 Posts