The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys im a newbie with the smoke pole and I love the traditional things so I got a T/C hawkens flintlock and I got hodgdons pyrodex rs for the main charge and 3f goex for the pan I was wondering will the 3f work for the pan cause I have a friend who keeps saying you want the finest you can get and he says you can crush it a little more in a medicine bowl but I know a little bit about black powder and really like my hands so I figured ill get opinions before I do anything and any info about the hawkens and charges and this will be helpful thanks guys

·
Super Moderator
12,799 Posts
The others are right...pyrodex and black powder substitutes MIGHT work...sometimes...but you will likely not get the performance and speed of real black powder...goes, swiss, schuetzen etc...

2 or 3f in the barrel...4fg if perfered in the pan though some use 3f and seem to do fine...

Can't help with grinding it...i can't speak for its safety...but I know a guy that does it...its pretty much powder...never used it...can't speak for if it works any better or not....

·
Registered
861 Posts
I use 100 grains of 2f triple 7 for the charge and 4f goex in the pan. You guys are saying I would get better performance if I switched to straight black powder? If so, how many grains?

·
Registered
454 Posts
The above info is correct, i use ffg as the barrel charge and ffffg in pan. I tried tripple7 a few years back and expierienced terrible hangfires with it.

Flints were made for "real" black powder in my opinion, and thus this is all i use.

·
Registered
861 Posts
So what are the advertised advantages of substitutes like triple 7? Why do they exist?

I thought they were cleaner and caused less barrel fouling, I assume this is not the case?

·
Registered
1,881 Posts