The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, title says it all.

I'm Australian. I've been in the US for all of 12 days, this is my first time here. I hunt a lot back home, but almost none of that counts over here. Don't know the land, don't know the wildlife.

I've noted that in GMU's 2D and 2E, near where I am at there's a final chance at Turkey on 24-26 November. I'll be shotgun hunting for what that's worth to the conversation.

Can anyone give me any tips, tricks or pointers (secret spots?) to increase my odds given my short window of opportunity, this may be the only chance I get in my life to hunt a Turkey.

I was planning to go out in the next few days and practice (without a gun), but short of wearing camo and watching the wind I don't really know what I am doing. From what I can tell you can find Turkey's in the woods as much as grasslands and clearings, but is there a better spot to find them? South facing valleys I'd guess are better for the sun? I assume anywhere that woods meet grassland. I need to crash-course to basic Turkey hunting before 24 November...

Other thing that would be good to know is what's the best Turkey call for the money, especially as it will get used for all of 3 days.

·
Registered
82 Posts
I'm not sure if you have snow in Australia, so this is just a general hunting tip and not just for turkeys, over here if you get thirsty don't eat yellow snow, ever.

your needing a crash, crash course, best thing would be to get a Fall hunting DVD by Denny Gulves, you may be in driving distance to pick it up.

get on youtube, search for fall turkey vocals and hunts,
on short notice you should try to master the cluck then yelp, then Kee Kee, these are all on youtube
you may be in driving distance of Kip, who is on this forum and makes very good sounding box calls, send him a PM.
A pot call is also a good starter call and can make the vocals you'll need.