The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
on june 22 a broke my shoulder in 4 places and had 13 screws and a plate put in to hold my together. so no archery hunting for me this year. Of course its my best college schedule ever hunting wise and after spending the last 4 years building up my spots and winds I can hunt where and when, I need to figure out a way to hunt this season. never even held a cross bow in my hands in the almost 2 decades ive been shooting a bow ( I sound old at 23 saying ive been doing something for almost twenty years!) I see recurve and compound ones. please school me on what I need minimum to whitetail hunt.
cant spend an arm ad a leg ( I can only use my one arm right now any way HA HA) I missed two months of work so far and go back to college in two week with no work in site. but if I can find out what I need and shop around im hoping to find something I can afford on craigslist or somewhere or borrow one from someone in my network of friends.
for your viewing pleasure here is my Xray

·
Registered
12,246 Posts
I will give the same advice that I give everyone. PM Arrowhead on here or better yet give him a call. He will be able to steer you in the right direction. Be very careful buying used especially being a rookie as there is a lot to check out on a crossbow. Also some bows you can no longer get parts or serice like the Horton's since they are out of business. Arrowhead sometimes has some used bows as well. He has them checked out and ready to hunt with.

That shoulder looks painful. OUCH!

·
Registered
512 Posts
Go to Cabelas, They will let you shoot their bows before you buy one, That way you will see how hard it is to reload and what feels best for you. You do not have to buy one there so then you can look for the best deal.

Good luck, Stan

·
Registered
1,236 Posts