The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for a few suggestions regarding improving my land to increase the grouse population. Currently, my property is in great shape in terms of shelter and habitat. I have small stands of aspens, a few small fields with great edges, multiple logging roads, and small sections that have been clear cut or heavily logged. The property holds grouse, but it is typically very hit or miss and could definitely be improved.

I believe the missing piece is food. I have searched the internet and found several plants that seem to attract grouse; however, as i look further they also seem to be invasive (such as autumn olive and wild grape). I was just looking for a few suggestions on what I should plant and where to increase my grouse population. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
1,873 Posts
I am not an expert, but I have spent the last several weeks reading up on this exact topic. The best solution that I have found(price wise) is from Howard Nurseries and it consists of purchasing the Elderberry seedlings. I have also looked into other berries that grouse enjoy, but I haven't found anything that is jumping out at me.

·
Registered
16,493 Posts
Rule of thumb on the Wild Grape that I use. If the vines are choking a viable tree, whether it's viable for wildlife, or $$$ for my pocket, I cute the vines. Wild Grape is very beneficial to have. I simply do not get hung up on the invasive plant issue. I have plenty of Autumn Olive, Grape, and Multiflora Rose, and all three benefit the dynamics of my farm in different ways.

What I do dislike as far as non-natives though, is the Tree of Heaven, Ailanthis.

·
Registered
2,436 Posts
Call the RGS and get some of there Clover Mix and plant it on your logging roads, and also plant any kind of fruit bearing bush or shrub. But make sure you fence them to keep deer and bear out

·
Registered
28,493 Posts