The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,014 Posts
I like the mossberg 500 my dad own one and both of my brothers own one,i probably would if i didnt already have an 835.no experience with the tikkas but from what i have heard they are a superb firearm

·
Registered
2,656 Posts
I have no experience with the Tikka but I can say that I'm not a big fan of the Mossberg 500. Compared to the Remington 870's and Browning BPS's, they seem flimsy to me.

·
Registered
4,541 Posts
All reports I have seen on the Tikka rates them very high. I have an 835 too and think it is a great gun so 500 should be good too.

·
Registered
371 Posts
I've got a 500 slug gun for hunting in MD. I love it, have taken several deer with it. I do understand the "flimsy" comment made. I thought the same thing when I bought it. I have two 870's and they do feel more solid, but I've never had a problem with the 500.

·
Registered
515 Posts
I have a tikka t3 in 25-06. It is the smoothest and best shooting gun I have. It will out shoot my 700's with ease, I probably will never buy another remington at this point, my 2 cents

·
Banned
4,988 Posts
gstiegeljr said:
I have no experience with the Tikka but I can say that I'm not a big fan of the Mossberg 500. Compared to the Remington 870's and Browning BPS's, they seem flimsy to me.
How can a gun be flimsy?

·
Registered
2,325 Posts
I have owned Brownings, Remingtons and Mossberg 500's and 835's and I like the Mossbergs the best, flimsy or not

·
Registered
3,691 Posts
my mossberg is built sturdy. i bought it new in 90. it ain't fancy but gets the job done. and i love the tang safety. all guns should have them like that.

·
Registered
6,212 Posts
I have both mossberg 500 and a 870 express. IMO they are very close to the same. The Remington just costs more. If your were to buy the 870 Wingmaster that changes everything. Entirely different gun IMO.

Tikka? I know nothing.

·
Registered
341 Posts