The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my third year hunting grouse pretty seriously. Due to time constraints I'm limited to day trips and try to keep one way travel time to about two hours, which puts me in 3D and 4C. This year I flushed about half the grouse I did in the two previous years. I hunt alone for the most part and without a dog, so I don't expect to see a lot of birds.
Now that the season is over I'm curious if those who hunt 3D and 4C experienced the lower rates as I did this year or was I just hunting unproductive covers.

·
Registered
134 Posts
I've been hunting grouse for three years now. I live and hunt the majority of the time in 3D. My flush rate was higher per hour three years ago than the past two, however each year I flush more birds than the year before. Just put in more time to find them.

Its tough around here that's for sure. Even when you're in decent cover there are just not that many birds. I consider the day a good one if I even see a bird.

I had planned on starting a thread about what others felt was possibly the problem in this area but this thread will work as good as any. My feeling is that even the areas that have been cut are small and spaced greatly from one and other. The other problem I feel is there is a lack of diversity in the cuts, I don't see a good mix of wintering cover or food within the cuts. I'm the farthest thing in the world from an expert and would like the opinion of some more seasoned guys that have been to this area.

·
Registered
2,175 Posts
I hunt the area and I alway feel the lower flush rate has something to do with the poor quality soil. The quality of the cover that grows is poor even in young regrowth. Most of the area is either rocky or swamps, I wonder if the top soil was always so poor or if it eroded due old poor forest management. I would be interested in hearing a more educated opinion on the matter.

·
Registered