The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8,072 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I set out to get the crossbow dialed in this weekend. I have a 4 crosshair Tru glo scope, on top of a Horton Summit 150. I started at 15 yards. I got a few decent groups after some adjustments. I went back to 25 and shot on the second crosshair. I hit way low. This surprised me a bit so I put the 3rd crosshair and nailed it. I moved back to 30 yards and hit kill zone with the 4th.

I thought that this was a bit off but after going through the rounds again I found this to be where the pins would have to be set. 15yd, 20yd, 25yd, 30yd.

I am new to the sport and was wondering if you veterans could help me out. I am shorting a Horton Summit 150. The bow seems awfully slow to me, but that could just be how this modle is.

I did notice when I was shooting I would have a few rounds of good 3" groups or so, then one would be really wild. I had shot at 25 yards for a few rounds. One of the shots I hit perfect in the heart where I was aiming, and on the very next shot the arrow sail into my glendel bucks neck. I can't be certain if I had pulled that bad or if something in my scope is messing up.

I am using my hands to cock it and not using a string aid or a crank. I was thinking maybe I had pulled the string at a not so perfect angle when I locked it in.

The trigger on this crossbow is tough to get used to. I found myself squeezing until it broke. It seemed like it took for ever for the trigger to start to break. I am not used to crossbows at all, and I am inmagining that this will become a non issue.

I am fine with the bow being limited to 30 yards, as I am not impressed with its speed. I may not take it out this year, but am thinking about it. I am shooting 100 grain tips on 2219 arrows. Should I try a heavier head since the bow is slower?

Any other tips?

·
Registered
18,622 Posts
Hey Mike.