The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to buy my first ATV and came across somebody local selling their 2010 Sportsman 550 XP. It has 200 hours and 1378 miles on it. It comes with a Polaris winch & plow. The fender is cracked and he said he's been having problems with the winch. He's asking $4,000 obo. What do you think? As I'm new to owning a quad, how can I tell if the quad has been well maintained? The cracked fender was done loading the quad into a truck so he says. What could the problem be with winch?

I really need the quad to plow snow and will use it occasionally to hunt. I was hoping to buy a Honda for their reliability, but I've read a lot of good things about this quad. I really want this to last though as I plan on keeping it a long time.

I'd appreciate any input.

·
Registered
3,770 Posts
You can buy the same machine used with none of those issues for 4 grand. You can buy a brand new leftover right now for 5 grand. I would not pay that price for that quad, MHO.

·
Registered
21,571 Posts
Winch might only be the switch. Mine didn't work right until a buddy cleaned up the switch. Flawless since and didn't cost me a thing.

·
Registered
21,571 Posts
You can fix the crack with that fiberglass stuff that you use to fill holes in car body parts. The kind where you mix the two liquids and dip the cloth in the mixture, then put the wet cloth over the crack. Looks terrible, but it will probably be stronger thatn the fender was originally.

·
Registered
773 Posts
Joe the Logger got it correct. Pass on 4K, or make an offer for 500 less

·
Registered
21,317 Posts
I wouldn't even pay 3k for it.That thing has been used pretty hard if it has over 1300 miles on it.Add to it the fact that it was used for plowing and you'll be sinking money into it.

I know it's a chevy ford thing but I wouldn't by a polaris.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·