The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive got a foxpro firestorm and ive got alot of coyotes to answer with challenge howls and the coyote locator but havent got any to close the distance i was wondering if there is a certain calling sequence that works for you to bring them the next 200yrds or just to keep at it since there answering? helps appreciated Thanks!

·
Registered
3,101 Posts
I'm no expert here....you found the dawgs.......they answer and then hang up on you...did you go into any distress calls...? Birds...rabbit or pup distress.....that's what I would have done....you did nt explain if you hunting at night or during the day....either...

·
Registered
927 Posts
Dont worry about howls man it just puts them on alert. Try and sneak in and get as close to them as possible then use a distress call for only a short time. like 30sec then stop. if there coming they will generally be on you quick. Iv tried howling and you usually get a response but they dont hardly ever come, if you want to locate them use a howl the night beforw to figure where they are hanging out then come back next night and get in reall close and make your first shot your best.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
hunting at night.. and nope never went into distress calls just keep using vocalizations but will now.. for late season though do you think coyote distress sounds or prey distress would get a better response ?

·
Premium Member
24,075 Posts
Try using a coyote decoy and I don't mean a rabbit one either, they won't come if they don't see anything

·
Registered
5,576 Posts
"challenge howls"
I have interest only since I don't use a call that runs over $100. But in using an electronic call, maybe your coyote is a lot "bigger and tougher" than the coyotes answering the call. Maybe it's telling the other coyotes to stay out of his territory.