The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner
  • Hey Guest, it looks like you haven't made your first post yet. Until you make an introduction thread, the rest of the site is locked to posting. Why not take a few minutes to say hi!
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
Bear Divergent
36 Posts
I am 55 years young and I can remember in my teens when we had 15 to 20 family members hunting together on the first day. Last year I hunted by myself the entire season. I am also a school teacher. When I first started teaching I always had a buck pole with 40 to 50 students participating but I stopped a few years ago due to lack of interest. Kids just do not hunt anymore unless you count shooting something on a video game.

·
Registered
17,777 Posts
People are tagging out early.
A small part of the equation. The largest part is we have lost around 350,000 deer hunters and of the roughly 750,000 that we still have, surveys are showing that they spend much less time hunting than they used to. The increased harvest earlier in the season does not account for the dramatic decline in participation in rifle season.

·
Registered
3,986 Posts
Not gamelands but i will have the woods to myself on State Forest land in Potter on the opener. With the exception of the nit wit that came in and climbed a tree 40 yards from me 30 minutes after shooting light last year on the opener i didnt run into anyone else. Been like that 5-6 years now. You dont even know its rifle season.

·
Registered
3,986 Posts
The genY and genZ are not following through with what was passed down for generations. Not sure if you can pin it down on one thing. It is happening with hunting camps also. Alot of camps in my area are either being sold or being used for recreation, not hunting.
Some of the neighboring camps have turned into Bed and breakfast rentals

·
Registered
172 Posts