The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3,085 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok still a newbie here. Had my gun to Dixons several times ( 50 cal T/C Hawken) and he insists the frizzen is ok. However my flint life is pretty short, they last about 5 shots until they basically begin flaking apart and they stop sparking. These are the good ones from Dixons too. How long should a flint last?

·
Super Moderator
12,807 Posts
my guess is that you have an old style lock on that TC which had a poor hammer angle...

if thats the case, call TC and tell them its eating flints and sparking poorly and your frizzen is good and send it in with a note saying the same....they will update it and send it back free of charge...

i gotta send mine when i am done hunting with it for the season....

doesnt matter what flint you use with that bad hammer angle, its going to eat through the flints in a hurry...

·
Registered
3,887 Posts
5 shots is not nearly enough. That would drive me crazy.

FWIW, I buy and use English Knapped Flints in my T\C flinter. I haven't counted....but I'm going to say I get about 30 to 50 shots before I have to Knapp the flint and get further life out of it.

In addition....being a flinter for some time, I've purchased about 5 additional frizzens for my T\C. The T\C frizzens are not heat treated all the way through, so when the thin outer skin is worn off, they will quit sparking. Then I will replace it with a new one.

So...when I have 2 or 3 "bad" frizzens, I will send them to T\C with a note telling them they are bad, and they replace them for free.

But, I've had my best luck with these English Knapped Flints.

FWIW

Dave

·
Registered
6,477 Posts
Old style on top.
New on bottom.
Note the difference above the hammer screw.

·
Registered
12,269 Posts
With a proper lock and flint, they can last to 100 shots. I personally have gotten more than that with a well tuned lock on a smooth bore trade gun.