The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First Food Plot

I am a total beginner when it come to food plots. I have always just used mineral and corn in the past on my land. However, I would like to plant a small plot or 2 in a few openings w/in my mt. land. They are about 30-40 feet by 20 30 feet or so. What is the best type of seed to plant, and what is the best time to plant it. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
160 Posts
Re: First Food Plot

for that size of plot anything would be tough deer would eat it before it becomes mature unless you have a late season plot like winter greens, or some kind of rape seed

·
Registered
409 Posts

Start clearing off the edges to make them a little bigger a few feet each way will give you a lot more square footage.

·
Registered
28,459 Posts

ALl my plots are small, not that small but nothing like a farm field.

Tips off the top of my head.

Clear away the trees to the south first (if you can) it will improve sunlight the most, which is improtant to any seed.

Stay way from things like throw and grow and Shot plot or anything with ryegrass, the deer will love it in year 1 when it is establishing and tender, but it becomes a problem in future years.

WIth small plots there is a tendency to over seed cause if you buy pre-packaged you wonlt to use it all. Althought it makes for aquick green carpet, as the plants mature they kind of stunt out and quit growing.

We have a new sponsor coming on here...Hilltop Seeds...Chris will mix up a blend for you if you tell him your particulars for even a small plot.