The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am a newbie to this website, and also with goose hunting in fields!

The other day, I hunted a field and had exceptional success with a few other hunters, however, many birds didn't want to land into our spead.

Our layout blinds were covered very well and blended into the cut corn field. I think we went wrong with our decoy spread.

Is it possible that our decoys were too close to each other? Approx. how far should we keep them apart? Where should we set up our layout blinds according to our decoys?

We had a few different flocks that were very interested in our field, however, they kept flaring whenever they would try to land.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I hope this site will help me become a better outdoorsman and I hope to help out fellow hunters and anglers as well!

Thank You and God Bless!

·
Registered
618 Posts
I would keep the decoys 3-4 paces apart. Also I would not put your layout blinds in the spread this late in the season. Just my .02 cents.

·
Registered
320 Posts
watch real birds in a feild and try to copy them. learn there pattens take note of where they land also the closer you get to the spot they like to land the better they fell about cupping up and dumping in learn the birds

·
Registered
4,716 Posts
Do not take this the wrong way, but if someone can answer this question, I would like to hear it as well, and I have been at it about 25 years.