The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm fairly new to goose hunting and was patterning my Browning silver with Federal Heavyweight loads that are 12 guage, 3 1/2", 1 3/8 oz. of 2 shot. What I found that at 45 yards the full choke patterned much better than the modified. I contacted Browning and they said they don't recommend the full choke for heavyweight shot because it can cause a bulge ring near the choke area. Does any one here use a Browning with a Invector full choke with heavy weight shot. Thank you for your time and info. Tony

·
Registered
975 Posts
I shoot these all the time and have found the best patterns come from a factory IC in my Benelli. Give your IC choke a try and see what you get.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the reply.. Ill give it a try after work tomorrow. I'll post the results

·
Registered
2,207 Posts
You're not supposed to shoot steel loads from a full constriction choke tube. This applies to all steel loads, just not federal heavyweights. I used federal red box and have my best patterns from my IM and LM Briley tubes. Shooting #2's isn't like shooting BBB, you'll sometimes get a decent pattern from a full choke tube, but the larger you go in pellet size, your pattern will likely break down. Check out a Carlson's stainless steel extended tube. You'll be able to shoot anything and get a nice dense pattern at range. I own quite a few Carlson's, never have I been disappointed with how they perform shooting federal loads.

·
Registered
5,255 Posts
I really like the federal shells...so does the gun.
I will tell ya though, in 2 cases ive had 4 no fires. All had good firing pin hits.

·
Registered
3,391 Posts