The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
5,159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to the world of the .308. I've been reloading for various calibers for while now, and plan on reloading for my new .308 rifle. I'll be using it for deer mostly, from 50 yards out to possibly 400. So, what are your favorite deer bullets and loads for the .308 Winchester?

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
A 150 grain nosler partition or barnes x-bullet will take care of any whitetail deer that ever walked..use awesome bullets and take the worry out of the picture.

·
Registered
5,159 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I think I'll pass on the expensive premium bullets for deer. I'm not hunting 300 lb animals, or shooting a super high velocity rifle. I use them in my 25-06, and my 300 ultra, simply because I want the bullet to hold together at extreme velocity. I'm just looking for a regular bullet for deer. Anyone have any experience with the 165gr Sierra hollow point boat tail?

·
Registered
4,541 Posts
I have used the Sierra 165 gr BT in my .300 Win mag. Most accurate bullet I have found for it and smacks down deer.

·
Super Moderator
12,799 Posts
165gr Nosler ballistic tip over 45.5gr of Varget...

(i shoot accubonds but if i were strictly deer hunting i'd likely run ballistic tips..)

work upto that Varget load..most rifles shoot well right around there...

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
I don't own a .308, but have had great success with Sierra 150 gr Gamekings in my 30-06 & 30-338. Have killed deer with both rifles out to 350 yards. They are alot cheaper than some of the premium bullets & work just as well.

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
I am with Rayray,on the Sierra 150 Game KIngs boat tail or the Pro hunter 150 flat base over IMR 4064 powder. These seem to be a very accurate bullet and do a good job of putting a deer down at close range or out to as far as you would care to shoot!

·
Super Moderator
4,388 Posts