The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,581 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok,,I'm still new to the in-line game....so this may seem like a dumb question.....or maybe an obvious answer, but has anyone ever "compared" shooting their in-line with the substitute Black Powders vs. the Real ones such as Goex, ect.?

The reason I ask is I have shot some excellent loads using Blackhorn 209 at 100gr. But last weekend at my local Club we were plinking with flinters and I had my new in-line (taking much abuse of course) and I was shooting a 240gr. lead bullet with a T\C sabot over 50gr. of Goex FF.

The targets were only at 35 yards but the gun was shooting dead on, easy to reload with a swab on every 5th shot or so.

I was just thinking of testing the Goex with a 325 FTX bullet and instead of using 100gr. of Blackhorn, perhaps trying from 100 up to 120gr. of Goex FF.

Just wondering if anyone had done this?

Thanks

SW

·
Registered
3,391 Posts
MOST if not ALL folks that shoot inlines shoot a BP substitute as they don't want to have to deal with the horrible fouling and the sulphur and the corrosive properties and the low velocities and the hydroscopic nature of BP and the impact sensitivity and......get the picture?

·
Registered
12,208 Posts
Congratulations, you have rediscovered the load for the US Gov't 50 caliber carbine which was introduced in approx 1866. A great many of the early cartridge guns shot great with shallow fast twist barrels and about your load of real black. All of my in-line guns are percussion utilizing No 11, caps. They also all have round ball rifling. The little 32 will put five into a postage stamp at 75 ft. I don't shoot anything but real black.