The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to using an Encore. My question is, are they capable of the 400-450 yard shots that a bolt action is able to do?

·
Registered
2,161 Posts
Encores are no different than bolt actions in accuracy in that you have to have a good barrel in a caliber capable of long-range accuracy and find the right load combination for the barrel to shoot accurately at that range.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Should I shy away from factory barrel? I'm looking at getting a .300 win mag. Want to go elk hunting out west in two years.

·
Registered
2,161 Posts
I shoot factory barrels in .22 hornet, .223, .243, .260 Rem, and .50 cal. ML along with some custom barrels. I've never had an issue with accuracy with any of my barrels but my factories all per-date TC being bought out. Can't speak to barrels being turned out by S&W run TC.

·
Registered
206 Posts
if encores were as accurate as bolt action rifles, then all the people shooting 1000 yard competition would use them instead of spending thousands on a custom bolt action. don't kid yourself, there is a big difference between the two. the encore triggers are a big issue and the barrel not being able to be free floated is another. remember the rifle you are shooting is only a part of a system which includes shooters ability, ammo quality, optics, weather,and etc. if you want to consistantly shoot long range, go to a benchrest match and talk to the shooters. and for anyone here who doesn't agree with what I am saying, take your encore and go shoot a bench rest match before saying anything more.

·
Registered
2,161 Posts
gruvco2 said: