The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I saw a couple of coots yesterday and it crossed my mind that I have no idea if they are good to eat. I would think they are not, but I am new to waterfowling and have no idea. Anybody here know?

·
Registered
7,391 Posts
I've been told it's all in the preparation.

My own experience differs. I took a friend who had never hunted ducks before. We had an uneventful morning, then began seeing a lot of coots. He wanted to shoot some because he wanted the feathers for tying flys, so we jumped a couple with the canoe and he killed them. Decided to clean and cook them. He plucked them and put them in a roaster with some seasoning, and popped them in the oven. They smelled terrible, and when they were done, his LAB wouldn't even eat any!

I suppose it's like anything else; different folks will eat different things. I have no problem with putting mergies in stews with other ducks and there's no telling what is what.

·
Registered
6,662 Posts
This will be a repeat for some on here but I can't help myself.

I cooked a Coot one time but the darn Coot tasted terrible. So, I gave the Coot to the dog.
After the dog ate the Coot, he ran outside into the yard and licked his Butt just to get the taste outta his mouth.

·
Registered
1,277 Posts
Eating Coots is like eating the first Carp you ever caught .... tried it once, ...... ain't ever doing that again!

·
Registered
736 Posts
Coots are kinda like board fish. Old story but ya'know cook on the board and toss the fish then eat the board!! That's why you can shoot 15 a day and none are often harvested.

·
Registered
3,284 Posts