The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a GSP and am looking to buy my first e collar. i want to buy a Tri Tronic and im not sure on which range to buy. I would like to hear some opinions on buying a 1/2 mile range collar to a 1 mile range collar. I was leaning more towards the half mile range buy wasnt sure if i would need the 1 mile instead. Any help is appreciated

·
Registered
24,784 Posts
I strongly suggest going with the one mile range for a hunting dog running off lead..

As Carl said range is cut significantly in heavy cover and hills and valleys...

For hunting dogs off lead TT field or pro models...

Best of luck with your dog and your decision.

·
Registered
625 Posts
YOu have picked a good brand. As a working pro I have been using the Tritronics collars since the mid 1970's. I have tried others and have always come back to Tritronics for consistency and reliability. Plus they are made here in the USA.

As for the range I have found that the 1 mile collars are best. As Carl and Timberdoodle have mentioned if you are planning on using a collar in heavily wooded and hilly terrain even the best 1 mile units drop down considerably. A shorter range collar looses too much for a hunting dog that is really hunting.

If on the other hand all you are planning on is going to shooting preserves and your dog is a 40 yard dog you might be able to get away with a half mile collar.
Tom

·
Registered
17,319 Posts
I use the Tri-Tronics Sport Upland G3 on my GSP and am very happy with it. I had a TriTronics Sport 65 BPRs that I used on my old GSP and it also worked well. I sold it when I lost her. The Sport Upland G3 replaced the Sport 65 BPRs, so that is the one I went with.

·
Registered
1,528 Posts
pjgsp said:
i was actually looking into the sport upland g3 with beeper