The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone. I am new to waterfowling and I am currently buying stuff a little at a time to get ready for the upcoming season. I have some cheaper duck calls, however I am looking to invest some money into better calls before the season starts. The problem is that I have no clue what I would even buy. Could someone provide me with some insight as to the differences in calls? I see that there are single reed, double reed, different materials and sounds, etc. Where do I start?
Thanks in advance for any advice.

·
Registered
2,537 Posts
Your best bet is to find a place where you can try a bunch of calls & find one you like best. Typically double reeds are easier to get the basic sounds out of. The singles have more range and flexibility, but are supposed to be tougher to get the hang of. For what it's worth, when I was learning, I couldn't get a decent sound out of a double, but I could on a single (go figure).

Something else to consider....a $200 duck call in $20 hands is going to sound like a $20 call.

·
Registered
870 Posts
I think jguns has the right idea. Go somewhere you can try a bunch of different calls. Like jguns, I found the single reeds easier at first, but that may not work for you.

Also, get a part time job, buying calls can be habit forming.

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Say what you will about the company but the Big Guys Best in Coco practically blows itself. Very versatile and user friendly double reed. Buy one and you won't be disappointed.

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Lol ya know... Before I hit "submit" I gave it second thoughts... I assumed it was safe in the context of a duck call... You know what they say about assuming..

·
Registered
2,207 Posts