The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9,695 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not good at designing things, but can build them once the design is there. I have a Kubota RTV900 side by side. My bassett hound is 10 now and it's becoming a little bit of a chore for her to jump out of the bed. I'd like to make some kind of a light-weight ramp for her to load and unload. Biggest issue is that I can't carry whatever I make in the bed with her. She won't ride with anything else in the bed, so it would have to be something I could carry elsewhere on the machine, foldable if possible, and light to handle. Anyone with design skills have any suggestions?

·
Registered
9,695 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It would mainly depend on how it would mount. She freaks out if anything is in or on the bed. She even gets uneasy if I tow my lawn trailer. My main interest is what to make it out of. Needs to be light, but sturdy

·
Registered
1,787 Posts
i'm thinking hang it off j hooks on the side flush with the top of the bed
as far as materials, it depends on what your equipped to work with.
aluminum is best choice.
what you got to figure out is how long it needs to be

·
Registered
9,695 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'll try to figure that out today. My early thinking tells me I might have to make it a folding ramp to achieve the length and still be compact enough to mount somehow on the machine.

·
Registered
3,794 Posts