The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the trail camera world. I have been using mine for about 3 months now and I love it. I have been hunting in PA and MD. I was thinking about getting a deer feeder for my MD location for next year. I want it for both hunting and trail cam pics.
Do any of you use them and how well do they work?
My thinking is the fact that they have timers so you can control when the put the food out I can set it for morning and evening at the times that I would be in my stand next year. I have been putting piles of corn out this past year with great results on the camera. The feeders seem to broadcast the feed more instead of piling it up and I was wondering if the deer still come in to it because of that.
I am just curious as to what results others are getting with these before I invest in one this summer.

·
Registered
774 Posts
At first it's great, then it clogs up, the batteries don't last , the bears won't leave it be.
You are better off putting the money elsewhere, in my opinion.

·
Registered
295 Posts
Yea if u have bears, forget about it, they will destroy it.

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
We don't have any bears where I am at. Do they clog up that fast and often? I have seen some that come with rechargable batteries and solar panels to charge them with.

·
Registered
813 Posts