The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I see reports of individuals shooting tundra swans mistaken for snow geese.One cited for unplugged shotgun with 5shells.Witnesses spot group of vehicles stop and watch flock of snow geese,they got out and started shooting at the flock.The individuals that shot at the flock gathered some of the geese up,but left 3 wounded swans and five snow geese.We hunted a field about 1mile from there 3 years ago,had ground pounders shoot at a flock that landed 300 yards from us.Its a shame to see this stuff.The area is West/Northwest of Middle Creek.

·
Registered
1,719 Posts
Yea it happened on one of my farms i have been hunting for over 30 years they crippled 5 swans and left 6 snows laying around they did get one of the license plate numbers. I think they should outlaw grounding pounding all together these guys don't care where they shoot or what , one farm i have they shot the barn and one window out of the house just for a bird. Just the way i feel about ground pounding!

·
Registered
959 Posts
gooseman51 said:
I think they should outlaw grounding pounding all together. Just the way i feel about ground pounding!
. I think there is a lot of us that feel the same way jimmy. The game commission doesn't really enforce it as much as I would like to see. They should be patrolling the area around middle creek like the patrol the game lands in pheasant season or state forest in deer.

·
Registered
959 Posts
Also call bs on mistaking a swan for a snow goose. They probably were the flock together and they opened up on the flock and the swans were shot.

·
Registered
4,083 Posts
Same guys every year, they just keep on chasin', shootin', and braggin' about it online. Manly men I tell ya! It's going to take a fatal accident for any enforcement to begin since its hard to prove it's an illegal activity.

·
Registered
278 Posts