The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a relatively novice bow hunter. I have an old, very old, Bear bow. Have been practicing regularly for the last few months and have regained my skills from when I was young and shot a lot. But I am using old equipment. Here is the question.

Last night I popped one strand in my bow string. It popped at the spot that tends to rub on my arm guard. How horrible is one strand? Do I need to just replace the string and not risk total breakage?
I'm not really worried about a total break. But should I be more concerned than I am?
My plan is to justify my hunting with a deer, THEN I am getting a new bow. So I am trying not to put any money into this old antique bow.

And, oh yea, I'm in 5C and start Saturday...

Thoughts?

·
Registered
6,212 Posts
get a new one now! The rest are sure to go soon. Trust me that you don't want it to break as it can cause severe bow damage, and cause bodily harm.

Just take it to a bow shop, and they can replace it in a few minuted for around $20-$40 depending on string and labor costs.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Replace it like yesterday. My buddy had a string fail on his bow while I was right next to him. trust me it is not fun at all

·
Registered
853 Posts
Probably best to replace your string but on a side note, do you hit your arm often? I know of two reasons why people hit their arm and one is too long of drawlenght and the other is improper grip on the bow. Might want to consider if your drawlenght is correct and if you are gripping your bow correctly if you have problem with hitting your arm. Can ask a bow shop about this stuff when you get your string replaced.

·
Registered
67 Posts
JD3 said: