The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
602 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
never saw one colored like this before its back is all black and is very dark...ive seen all black before but never like this one...what do you guys think

·
Registered
615 Posts
the soldiers brought yotes to tobyhanna army depot got disharged & cut em loose ....was coon hunting near swiftwater & heard them singing....many many moons ago.hhhhunted W/ ed. Metzger who was the constable...

·
Registered
138 Posts
Here is a pic of coyote eye. Notice the yellow ring. All pure coyotes will have it. Let us know if this beauty does. Either way great job deer killer down.

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
I was taught that a pure coyote will always have four distinct color bands on its guard hairs, coy dogs and other canines have three or less. pull a couple of guard hairs
from the back or back of neck and examine them. You will see four distinct color bands if it is a yote. I am not an expert but have had the chance to examine many coyotes and all had the four bands.

·
Registered
602 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
heres a couple better pics, check out the tan spots next to the eyes

heres the eye i couldnt get my flash to tun off but you can still see the yellow

my buddy actually pulled the trigger on her...7:15 am came into adult cottontail under 5 mins...22-250, 150 yards...this is his first game animal ever he just started hunting, heck of a way to start.

I just got back from dropping it off at the taxidermist, he wasnt sure if he wanted to mount it and i told him if he didnt i was going to...the pics dont do it justice the color in it was beautiful.

also she had to be eating very good, had a ton of fat on her

·
Registered
927 Posts
I guess you found my dog, thanks.
Why did he not want to mount it? Did he think it was a dog, and so what if it was. lol

·
Registered
5,130 Posts
Coyote. They come in many different color phases.

·
Registered
5,364 Posts