The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year searching for sheepshead and I am not sure how they should be prepared. What do you do with them?

·
Registered
1,950 Posts
Use them just as you would use store bought mushrooms. I have put them on pizza, in pot roast, deep fried, in sauce, omlets, and on and on.

Kinzua Man

·
Registered
2,144 Posts
I freezer bag them if I only have a small amount.

I canned them 1 time. Got a recipe somewhere, give me some time I can find it, if still interested.

Sautee with Olive Oil and or Butter/Margarine, onions, garlic.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Had my first ever taste of cream of sheepshead soup yesterday and it was great. Full of big chunky mushroom hunks in a thick creamy base. My friend found some after some much needed rain. Now my favorite for sure.

·
Banned
26,979 Posts
Mushroom soup, any kind. You can use several kinds if you like.

chopped mushrooms
butter and a little olive oil
two or three sprigs fresh thyme or 1/2 tsp dried
flour
chicken stock
salt
pepper
half tsp garlic powder
one tsp onion powder
Put butter with a tablespoon olive oil in pot, the amount depends on how much you are making. Half to 3/4 stick.