The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using Loggy Bayou climbers for about 20 years and i love them. I'm looking to buy a new one but Loggy doesn't make them anymore. now i've looked at Summit and others and what baffles me is, none of them appear, to me, to work like the loggy. the loggy, when you put the seat up and strap it in, the stand is attached similar to a hang-on and can NOT fall. i'm concerned because from what i can tell, the Summit and others don't lock into the tree, other than your weight downward keeping it locked. for instance, if you are standing up to take a shot, what if you snag the seat and it lifts? it seems to me it will come loose and drop. or is there a strap similar to the loggy that i'm not aware of that locks it into the tree? any opinions are greatly appreciated. so far i'm leaning toward the new Summit Switchblade. just hoping to find out from others, their pros and cons of these stands. thanks!

·
Registered
2,683 Posts
I have never used the Switchblade but have used a Summit Revolution for the last 9 years.

Mine and I am sure most come with a piece of nylon rope attached to the top(seat)portion of the climber. That is so you can tie the top and bottom part together so the bottom wont slide down the tree.

Another thing that I do is to use a small nylon strap and secure the top and bottom parts of the treestand around the tree. I just put it through the metal of the treestand and then around the tree, then the "teeth" are always snug against the tree and the parts cant move.

·
Registered
441 Posts
I use climbing stands only. I have two summits one with the surrounding bar and one without. I like the one without the bar the most, but climbing is alittle more difficult. The only problem I have had with sliding on trees is when I try to climb a tree thats to big.

·
Registered
220 Posts