The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to HPA and I was wondering if anyone could offer up some helpful advice, should they have any regarding what it takes to start up a Christmas Tree Farm. I understand that it will take several years before the business would turn any profit, but for nearly two decades now, maybe even more, I have wanted to start one up. My financial situation is not the best, but I believe if I keep putting off planning, I will never reach that point in my life where I actually take that next step. I apologize ahead of time if this posting is out of place, etc. I just understand from speaking with friends that this site is filled with knowledgeable people and I decided I would pick your minds for any helpful information.

·
Registered
1,277 Posts
I know people that have a tree farm. IMO if you have the land you can't go wrong, unless you're lazy. i think you can plant a few thousand trees on. 5 acres. figure. 7 years til you get full harvest. it can be more than just trees . too bad you're in Ohio, I'd be interested in teeming up with someone. i feel that strongly about it

·
Registered
2,279 Posts
U need to trim yearly and also spray. If Ur in Pa u will need some red tags to help prevent damage. Guess it depends where u are located. In the burbs u can get 50 to 70 for a tree. Not so much in the stix. Do a little research to find out how fast trees will grow to harvest and what ones are not prone to disease n insect destruction. Climate and soil also factor.in.

·
Registered
1,304 Posts
You need good soil to grow good trees. I tried planting some in north central pa. Without fertilizer, they grew slow, and were kind of yellow. White pines grew ok, but did not have good luck with the spruces and firs.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7