The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5,829 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, here is the deal.......I am looking for a cheap bolt gun as a total beater gun.........one I can cram behind the truck seat, and take in a canoe and not be too upset if it goes in the drink.........it will be tied off, just not crazy about dumping any of my good guns in the river......

I have little experience with cheaper guns..............I would like to stay around $300 + or - $50 and I would prefer a 30-06 or .300 Win Mag

Here are the options I have come up with:

Maverick by Mossberg 30-06
Marlin Xs7 30-06
Savage Edge 30-06
Used Savage 11 30-06
Remington 770 30-06 or 300 Win Mag

Thats about all I can come up with.......let me know which one you guys would go with, and why......

·
Registered
5,829 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I was also considering the stevens 200 in 30-06 or 300 Win

·
Registered
4,541 Posts
I just got a Marlin, feels superior to the others, haven't fired it yet, perhaps today.

·
Registered
1,860 Posts
I'm votin' for the Savage Edge...accuracy is outstanding..now if I could only get the clip out it would be the perfect rifle...$299 with scope and mounts/base..hard to beat that.

·
Registered
12,087 Posts
My Dad and uncles always kept an old military surp bolt actions as "trunk guns" Mine is a 303 enfield that I swapped a step ladder for. Shoots a 3 inch group at 100 yds, killed quite a few vermin and chucks. Ammo is cheap. If it gets banged up, who cares?

·
Registered
452 Posts
You can't go wrong with a Stevens 200 or Marlin XL7. I have both and they are outstanding rifles for the money. With handloads, my .243 Marlin will shot 5 shot 1/4" groups. My .223 Stevens the same, and in .308 about 1/2". can't beat that for $300.00 guns.

·
Registered
706 Posts
About the one I'd go with would be a used Savage 11.

I'd vote for a Remington 700 ADL, or used Ruger 77 to beat the crap out of.