The HuntingPA.com Outdoor Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any advice on getting yours?

I came from NY, where it cost me an arm, my left leg and the promise of my 1st born to get my pistol permit. I had a PA permit from 2007-2012, but it expired, and I am now a PA resident.

I have a pistol, but do not have my permit yet, so I know that I cannot carry concealed. I refuse to open carry, and want my permit.

I am currently moving, so I'm guessing I should wait to get settled into my new place first, but what advice can anyone give?

·
Registered
416 Posts
What advice are you seeking?

It's a simple process. Submit a completed application and wait for your sheriff's office to call or email you. As long as you don't meet any of the disqualifying criteria, you're issued a permit. They take your photo at the sheriff's office and print it out while you wait.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Wait until you move. The process is simple, but you'd have to amend your address immediately so you might as well wait. It should cost like $20 and unless you're a felon or have been involuntarily committed, then you should get it.

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys.

Sorry, in 2007, I went in and got my permit on the spot, but I wasn't sure if things had changed in 8 years.

·
Registered
113 Posts
When I moved after getting my permit, the sheriff's office said I did not need to get the address updated. If you did get it before moving, I would ask if you have to get it changed after.

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
My permit from 2007 expired in 2012, so I have to reapply.

Plus, I was a NY resident in 2007, and am now a PA resident.

·
Registered
830 Posts
also - it is not called a CCW permit in PA.

It is known as a LTCF (License to Carry Firearms).

easy process in PA - polar opposite of the Peoples Republic of NY.

·
Registered
2,189 Posts