Go to Your County Sheriff, ask for an LTCF form, fill it out and hand it in and pay what ever they charge you..Datkins said:Where do you apply for said permit? It usto be that you got a provisional permit at the co. treasures office , now I was told that that is no longer needed as long as you have a hunting licence. I want to do the right thing.
WHO told you that you do not need a permit to carry?
IF you carry Openly, No you do not need any type of permit...but there are many laws you have to follow when you carry openly!
There still is a Sportsmen Permit, which you get from the County Treasure... you show them your hunting license and you fill out the form for the Sportsmen permit and the county Treas charges I think $5.00...what is covered under the Sportsmen permit
BUT, the BEST route to go, is go to the county Sheriff, apply for an LTCF and get it, it covers the right to Conceal or open carry the pistol and also lets you carry it on you, in your vehicle without the need to unload it, secure the ammo in 1 place in the vehicle and the pistol in another, you can carry a semi for protection, hunting, spot lighting, fishing, running to the store, Ect.c.Sportsman's firearm permit. --
1.Before any exception shall be granted under paragraph (b)(9) or (10) of this section to any person 18 years of age or older licensed to hunt, trap or fish or who has been issued a permit relating to hunting dogs, such person shall, at the time of securing his hunting, furtaking or fishing license or any time after such license has been issued, secure a sportsman's firearm permit from the county treasurer. The sportsman's firearm permit shall be issued immediately and be valid throughout this Commonwealth for a period of five years from the date of issue for any legal firearm, when carried in conjunction with a valid hunting, furtaking or fishing license or permit relating to hunting dogs. The sportsman's firearm permit shall be in triplicate on a form to be furnished by the Pennsylvania State Police. The original permit shall be delivered to the person, and the first copy thereof, within seven days, shall be forwarded to the Commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police by the county treasurer. The second copy shall be retained by the county treasurer for a period of two years from the date of expiration. The county treasurer shall be entitled to collect a fee of not more than $6 for each such permit issued, which shall include the cost of any official form. The Pennsylvania State Police may recover from the county treasurer the cost of any such form, but may not charge more than $1 for each official permit form furnished to the county treasurer.
Also, Sportsmen Permits, Only cover Hand Guns that are Legal for hunting with... that means, if you only have a Semi Auto, forget it, your gonna need a LTCF!